Copenhagen announce Champions League squad vs Manchester United as Hojlund brothers hope to make history

The Danish champions boast Oscar and Emil Hojlund in their ranks – who are twin brothers. Had all three taken to the pitch at once in either of the two clubs&apos Group A Champions League meetings, it would have been the first time three brothers have shared the pitch in the competition.

But, with Copenhagen having announced their squad for the clash with United on Tuesday, those hopes of the family making some history on Wednesday night have been dashed – with Emil not included and instead set to play in the UEFA Youth League for the club&aposs U19s.

It appears, then, that the brothers will at least have to wait to become the first three siblings to play in the same Champions League game, but if the verdict of their former club&aposs sporting director is anything to go by, they may not have to wait too long. Christian Mouroux sporting director at Horsholm Usserod Idraetsklub told the Manchester Evening News last month that Emil and Oscar may well have &aposa slight competitive advantage&apos over their brother Rasmus.

He said: “A lot of people who have met all three think the two younger brothers are at least as talented as Rasmus.

“All of them have been very well advanced compared to the average, but the two younger brothers were, compared to Rasmus at the same age, in front of him.

“In my opinion, if youre talking about pure talent, I would go to the length of maybe saying the two little brothers have a slight competitive advantage.

“My personal favourite is Oscar. Emil is the more elegant player, he makes the elegant decisions and looks elegant when hes dribbling and having beautiful passes, whereas Oscar is more of a bulldog, hes a fighter, a winner, going into tackles, having courage.”

The squad announcement also confirmed that three Copenhagen players, William Clem, Birger Meling and David Khocholava, will not play any part in the game due to injury.

Copenhagen&aposs 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Kamil Grabara, Theo Sander, Andreas Dithmer.

Defenders: Kevin Diks, Denis Vavro, Christian Srensen, Elias Jelert, Nicolai Boilesen, Peter Ankersen, Valdemar Lund.