Man City’s next six Premier League fixtures compared to Arsenal, Liverpool FC and other rivals

The defeat means the champions are six points from leaders Arsenal with Liverpool and Villa ahead in the table after 15 matches. Pep Guardiola says he takes responsibility for the winless run, which has also comprised draws with Chelsea, Liverpool and Tottenham.

City will welcome back Rodri for their next game against Luton Town after the Spaniard was suspended for the trip to Villa Park for picking up five yellow cards. Jack Grealish also sat out the visit to his former club for the same reason, while Jeremy Doku was ruled out through injury.

Here are Citys next six Premier League fixtures over the festive period and into the new year, a run that is interrupted by this months Club World Cup before a mid-season break towards the end of January.

Luton Town (A) – December 10

Crystal Palace (H) – December 16

Everton (A) – December 27

Sheffield United (H) – December 30

Newcastle United (A) – January 13

Burnley (H) – January 31

Verdict: There may be concern over Citys recent set of results but the reality is that the big boys with the meatier squads are out of the way over the busy Christmas schedule. The likes of Crystal Palace, Everton and Burnley all have thinner rosters and tired legs could play into Citys favour.

The Blues biggest hurdle is the travelling and toll of the Club World Cup in Saudi Arabia. City play Palace three days before their scheduled semi-final with the final three days after that. Fortunately there is a gap of five days until the trip to Goodison Park on December 27, but its still not a lot of recovery time.

Aston Villa (A) – December 9

Brighton & Hove Albion (H) – December 17

Liverpool (A) – December 23

West Ham United (H) – December 28

Fulham (A) – December 31

Crystal Palace (H) – January 20

Crystal Palace (A) – December 9

Manchester United (H) – December 17

Arsenal (H) – December 23

Burnley (A) – December 26

Newcastle United (H) – January 1

Bournemouth (A) – January 21

Arsenal (H) – December 9

Brentford (A) – December 17

Sheffield United (H) – December 22

Manchester United (A) – December 26

Burnley (H) – December 30

Everton (A) – January 14

West Ham United (H) – December 7

Newcastle United (H) – December 10

Nottingham Forest (A) – December 15

Everton (H) – December 23

Brighton & Hove Albion (A) – December 28

Bournemouth (H) – December 31

Everton (A) – December 7

Tottenham Hotspur (A) – December 10

Fulham (H) – December 16

Luton Town (A) – December 23