‘Much missed!’ – Manchester United fans share delight as long-term absentee returns vs Newcastle

United were crowned champions of this competition last season after a comfortable 2-0 win over the Magpies at Wembley in February. Casemiro and Marcus Rashford were on target for the Reds, who ended their six-year trophy drought.

Ten Hag&aposs side enjoyed another commanding victory in the last round this season, entering the tournament in the third round and beating Crystal Palace 3-0 at Old Trafford. Newcastle came through a much more testing tie, Alexander Isak&aposs effort enough for them to knock out Manchester City.

LIVE: United vs Newcastle score and updates from Carabao Cup clash

United still have multiple injuries to contend with defensively and Ten Hag has made one defensive change from the side that lost Sunday&aposs derby. Sergio Reguilon has come in for Jonny Evans as Victor Lindelof moves to centre-back alongside Harry Maguire. Andre Onana and Diogo Dalot have kept their places.

Casemiro was unavailable for the derby but has been passed fit for tonight and starts in central midfield alongside Mason Mount and Hannibal Mejbri. The 20-year-old impressed when called upon earlier this season but has not featured since the defeat against Galatasaray.

Ten Hag took Rasmus Hojlund off early in order to protect his fitness on Sunday and the Dane has been benched this evening, with Anthony Martial earning a rare start. Alejandro Garnacho is the major change from Sunday, replacing Rashford, while Antony has come in at right-wing.

Another excellent piece of news saw Aaron Wan-Bissaka return to the matchday squad, the right-back having returned to training recently after suffering a hamstring injury in September. And after the teams were confirmed, United fans took to social media to share their delight at Wan-Bissaka&aposs return.

United team in full: Onana; Dalot, Maguire, Lindelof, Reguilon; Casemiro, Hannibal, Mount; Antony, Martial, Garnacho

Subs: Bayindir, Evans, Wan-Bissaka, Amrabat, Fernandes, Eriksen, McTominay, Rashford, Hojlund